Discrimination case for not being gay

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jankly

I work I work in the apparel industry. sometimes I work in the garment district in New York. Seems like almost half the company is gay and homosexual people run the executive level. I have many years of experience. I was passed over for a promotion by my boss. the person who ended up getting the job I should have been given is also gay. I wonder if this person is having an affair with someone in the company. I am afraid to complain about it and i don't know if this is sexual discrimination because being straight is not a minority. What can I do?

I work I work in the apparel industry. sometimes I work in the garment district in New York. Seems like almost half the company is gay and homosexual people run the executive level. I have many years of experience. I was passed over for a promotion by my boss. the person who ended up getting the job I should have been given is also gay. I wonder if this person is having an affair with someone in the company. I am afraid to complain about it and i don't know if this is sexual discrimination because being straight is not a minority. What can I do?

Discrimination is a very difficult thing to prove.

Those who do discriminate are very clever, therefore, it make sit harder to prove.

Plus, you must have damages, more than bruised ego.

You must also be in a protected class.

If you're unhappy, look for a place that appreciates your unique talents.

Last edited:
In any state where it is illegal to discriminate against someone for being gay, it is also illegal to discriminate against someone for being straight.

However, just because it is your opinion that you should have gotten the promotion does not mean it is also management's opinion. What EVIDENCE do you have that, but for being straight, you would definitely have gotten the promotion?

Thank you for your help. I am very grateful for your time.