Copyright infringement, pet beds

Status
Not open for further replies.

Larisa330

I have been making a pet bed for several months now, I received an email from a company in the Netherlands, portions as follows:

In this quality we have been entitled to action against violation by others on this copyright. We have determined that the product(s) on your internet website has been inferred/are a copy of the --------.
By doing so you are violating the copyrights, owned by --------. We request you, and as far as necessary we summon you, to stop unlawful acting against our products and copyrights immediately, stop selling the copy of the ------- and confirm to us in writing within 5 working days that you did so.

They are similar, but also have differences. Do I need to stop selling them?
Thanks for any advice.

I have been making a pet bed for several months now, I received an email from a company in the Netherlands, portions as follows:

In this quality we have been entitled to action against violation by others on this copyright. We have determined that the product(s) on your internet website has been inferred/are a copy of the --------.
By doing so you are violating the copyrights, owned by --------. We request you, and as far as necessary we summon you, to stop unlawful acting against our products and copyrights immediately, stop selling the copy of the ------- and confirm to us in writing within 5 working days that you did so.

They are similar, but also have differences. Do I need to stop selling them?
Thanks for any advice.

Only a court can command you to do something.
The legal force of such a letter is akin to extortion, as long as you have not infringed on their copyright.
And, even if there is some unintentional copyright infringement, how do you think these wooden show wearing, dike pluggers can order you in the USA to cease and desist.