Consumer Law, Warranties Conflict between verbal/written offer and final contract

Status
Not open for further replies.

johninbigd

I am a consultant who is doing contract work for a recruiter. My current contract is a contract-to-hire position. When I first heard about this job, the recruiter sent me documentation that said there would be a 10% on-hire bonus when I converted to full-time. We even discussed it several times verbally. When I got the offer sheet from the employer, it did not mention the 10% on-hire bonus. When I asked about it, they said they knew nothing about it and that was not part of the deal.

I went back to the recruiter and asked if that was something they were going to pay me, but they're saying that it was a mistake that should not have been on their documentation. It is not in the actual contract I signed, so I'm sure that's what they're going to fall back on. But I thought the contract was only referring to the hourly wage the recruiter would pay me during the contract period. I was under the impression that my new employer would pay the bonus when I was hired, so I didn't even notice that it was missing from the recruiter's contract with me.

So, they're saying that it was a mistake and I think they're going to say that since it wasn't in the actual contract I signed, they don't have to pay it despite the documentation showing that it was part of the deal and despite verbal in-person discussions where this was mentioned.

I'm guessing that since it wasn't in the contract I signed, they'll have a way out. But is that true? Is there any way I can hold them to this or am I out of luck?