Collection Service Nightmare - Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth

I have been dealing with a collections agency since June 2004 regarding a doctor's bill in the amount of $217.49, which I believed to have been paid in 2003. I contacted the collection's agency and spoke with two representatives, who berated and verbally abused me on the phone, and told me that they were taking me to court as I had not paid the bill. They stated that I not only owed them the aforesaid amount, but also $240.55 in ancillary fees. I have informed them in writing that I would not be paying ancillary fees as I did not even realize I had an outstanding bill and felt that they were taking advantage of the situation.

As I could not find receipt of payment for the bill or check history of payment. I sent a letter to the collections agency explaining that I was a full-time student, and that I would be glad to make payments to fulfill the debt owed in the amount of $217.49 plus the interest of $29.38, even though I believed the bill to be already paid, but could not afford the full amount up front. The collections agency did not respond so I ended up borrowing the full amount of $217.49 plus $29.38 in interest and paid off the debt, because I did not want to go to court and wanted the matter resolved.

I was first contacted on June 16, 2004 regarding this debt and had it paid in total by July 10, 2004. I did not hear back from the collections agency (even though I did send a letter asking for a receipt), so I believed the debt to be paid.

However, last week on January 5, 2005, I received a letter from the county courthouse stating that the aforesaid collections agency is taking me to court as I have not paid the bill. I also received a letter from the collections agency stating that I have not paid the bill of $217.49.