Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Caught shoplifting, 1st offense. received DAT

Status
Not open for further replies.

atnyc

Hi, I got caught shoplifting products that cost around $70 today and was given the DAT to attend an appointment on court. I've searched up something about pleading guilty versus getting "ACD". It sounds as if ACD is better for future employment, since we'd never actually plead guilty to offenses. What do I have to do to get the ACD and do I need a lawyer for that? I can't afford one for sure and am extremely regretful about this. I am actually trying to get into medical school, and I've never done this before.

Is it possible that the prosecutor will offer the ACD? I am really nervous about this and I would really appreciate your help! Thanks

Do not deal with prosecutor without a Lawyer. If you cannot afford an Attorney then plead not guilty or enter no plea on first court date and ask for Public defender. When you meet with public defender talk to him about ACD

The store actually took pictures of me and the stuffs I took, can I still plead not guilty with that? Would they send those pictures to court?

Is it possible to go see a public defender before my court date so that he/she would be there with me to work out a deal with the prosecutor?

thanks so much, it's great that you guys are here to help at times like this.

I am going to call up the defender service (Brooklyn Defender Services) on Monday along with some other private lawyers just so I could get some free consultations, like you've suggested in other topics. I wonder if the Brooklyn Defender Services are free. Anyways, I wished the court date was sooner in a way, just so I could get it over with. I am dying from regret and guilt, I don't know if I should tell my parents. I hope no one saw me when the police took me, cause it happened in my neighborhood. I can't imagine my family finding out from our neighbors.

By the way, is there a difference between ACD and diversion?