Can I use Copyrighted video I shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

camerashyvideo

I am a freelance video producer in San Antonio, TX. I have shot and edited video for a production company in Oklahoma City, OK and I was wondering if I can use video I shot as a freelance contract laborer, that is copyrighted by the company I shot for.

The footage is not being sold, or re-packaged. It is being used solely to advertise my services to OTHER clients.

My question is, can I use this footage without permission to advertise my services? I know if I shot this footage as an employee, the answer would definitely be "no", but as a freelance shooter, can I use this footage?

Thank you for any advice,
CameraShy

The answer to your question is no. You will have to obtain permission to use the video regardless what your employment status is when you use it to promote your services.

thank you, your honor! I guess I will have to beg and plea for them to let me use it. I would assume a written agreement would be best in this situation?

Correct. Hey, good luck with your business!

Presutin is probably correct although you should look at the agreement you signed. When I've done work I have tried to include a clause that I can make limited use to include within my portfolio and advertisement in certain ways. As you probably want recommendations that are good, perhaps best to obtain permission first too, even if it's just to maintain a good relationship. ;)

Thelawprofessor,
I never signed an agreement with the company. I have been researching copyright law at copyright.gov. It states that if the work was done as an independent contractor, and not an employee or work-for-hire, the contractor owns the copyrights. Is this correct?

I was responsible for shooting, editing, graphic design, and DVD creation.