Biting-off more than I can chew?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lucky1thanx

I have a few questions. Key issues: executor, living will, normal will, open lawsuit future award to go to physicians and children, making arrangements.

Sorry for the long post.

Here's the scenario. I am a chiropractic physician and have made friends with, and even taken-in a woman diagnosed with leukemia. Original diagnosis was at 17 y.o., she's now 31 y.o., She has been "given" 6-9 months to live without treatment (that's up about now) and has already gone through chemo, radiation and surgery. She has now completely, 100%, shunned all orthodox treatment in favor of only alternative approaches to her care. She knows she'll either make it, or not – and that's the Zen of it.

Now, me and my girlfriend are doing everything in our powers to help her heal and/or to make her possible last days the best they can be. I am not making any outrageous claims like "chiropractic holds the cure for cancer," yet I ~am~ doing my best to research her case and to deliver to her whatever she wishes...from wheatgrass juice and good music to stimulating conversation and even dog care.

I am also treating her for a recent car accident.

In the spirit of "prepare for the worst, and expect for the best," I am taking steps to prepare for the worst. I am looking for direction and protection. I'll try to form the concerns I have into questions.

Executor.

The patient knows that leukemia may win and, to avoid any appearance of impropriety, is interested in making my girlfriend the executor of her estate. Any problems with this? How can I make this go smoothly? –a simple will vs. no will?

Estate.