Being forced to leave

Status
Not open for further replies.

jvillan4561

I rented a room through a friend who is the son of the house owner and was at that time taking care of the house. Though everything was verbal I took the room for $200.00 dollars a month. I was also asked if I could have the water put under my name since water services stopped because of non payment of a previous tenant. With this, I only have the water bill showing that I am a resident of this house. Is this enough proof, since the house is now in short sale and I am being forced to move out with only days notice. Do I have any rights to stay? Should I just leave? Is there due process of eviction that they need to go to? The realtor agent had already called the cops and told us to leave or vacate the premises. Can I do something? Can someone please give me an advise since my last day here is suppose to be on Tuesday 9/7/10. Thank you.

I rented a room through a friend who is the son of the house owner and was at that time taking care of the house. Though everything was verbal I took the room for $200.00 dollars a month. I was also asked if I could have the water put under my name since water services stopped because of non payment of a previous tenant. With this, I only have the water bill showing that I am a resident of this house. Is this enough proof, since the house is now in short sale and I am being forced to move out with only days notice. Do I have any rights to stay? Should I just leave? Is there due process of eviction that they need to go to? The realtor agent had already called the cops and told us to leave or vacate the premises. Can I do something? Can someone please give me an advise since my last day here is suppose to be on Tuesday 9/7/10. Thank you.

Yes, if you refuse to leave, you will have to be evicted.
Only a judge can ORDER you evicted.
If you don't want to leave, tell the realtor that you're a legal tenant and will not be leaving.