Auto Accident and Surgery

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jsaunsnp

I am not sure, I hope this is the correct place to post this.

I was involved in a car accident on May 9th. I was traveling on a 4 lane divided highway at approx. 65 mph westbound. A large Ford f700 farm truck with a large tank on the back was traveling northbound and proceeded to cross the highway without stopping at the stop sign. The driver admitted fault and was ticketed by police. I was very fortunate in the accident and recieved some injuries but they could have been much worse. I suffered a right torn rotater cuff injury that required surgery and am going through physical therapy now. My vehicle is valued at approx 14,000 and recieved 7,000+ in damages.

My medical bills so far have been $11,409. I have been out of work since the accident and am using sick leave. I am VERY motivated to get back to work. I am a firefighter and currently on the promotions list, it is hurting my chances to not be at work proving myself while others that are on the list are doing so.

My main question is what do I ask the insurance company to settle for? My doctor says I should be back to work in 4 weeks.

I was told 3 times the medical bills is what i should ask for, is this correct? Is there some type of formula?

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

No, there is no standard formula when it comes to what you can get and how you should settle. Find yourself a good injury attorney that will look after your best interests and ensure that you have medical care if anything else happens due to an accident unhealed injury in the future.