Criminal Law Arrest record (but no conviction) effect on getting visitor business visa

Status
Not open for further replies.

josm

Hi,
I did my PhD from US and worked for about 1-1/2 years after PhD. I was divorced at that time when I was working, and my wife lived in MA. We were married about a year and never lived together due to different jobs and I never lived in MA. Due to personal troubles, I decided to spend some time with my family in India and I left my job. Before leaving US, she and I although divorced, decided to spend some time together in MA, as she too was leaving US and going back to India. So we met at her apartment in Boston around last week of August, and we were there for about a week. One day we had some issues and I left her apartment with my luggage inside. Out of anger she called police. During that time there were too many domestic violence issues in boston, and when police came and asked me some questions, they took me to the station for 'assault and battery'. They photographed me, took my license for verification and I think figer-printed me (I couldn't recall they did). Needless to say, I was completely shocked at Police actions and kept on saying that its a huge mistake; I truely couldn't beleive it. She was also completely surprised and said that she doesn't want arrest, and that police told her before coming to apartment they would just talk to me, and not arrest me. But Police said that now she also couldn't do anything accept that she could post bail. She came to the station in about two hour, and consented the bail. It was about $250 (I couldn't remember exactly) and I was asked to appear in the court in next few days.
I went to the court and my pre-trial hearing was set Oct 15 2009. At the pre-trial hearing the judge decreed dismissed for the want of prosecution. Apparently, she wasn't in court and there wasn't any proof with prosecution. Then I left US.