Criminal Law Aggravated Menacing and Green Card app. I-751

Status
Not open for further replies.

SH1980

Hi, I am a conditional permenant resident (2 years gc due to marriage to US) and I applied for the renewal Apr 2007(3 months before the current gc expired); I was fingerprinted for it, and I got a one year extension letter for my green card.

On May 2007 about 2 weeks after I filed the I-751 I was charged with Aggravated Menacing and my state lawyer couldn't reduce the charge so I'll have to plea to: susbended jail time under probation, 32hr community service time, a $500 fine, and I wasn't arrested.

- Will my green card renewal applicatoin be denied? this is my first and only offence with first degree Misdemeanor?
- I understand this is a first degree misdemeanor but is this crime of moral turpitude?

I have an immigration lawyer and she thinks it should only affect my Citizinship application not my green card application but I am looking for second opinion. Please help, this is making me so worry.

Thank you very much.

I need to know the maximum penalty under the crime you where charged?
What is the maximum penalty of the crime you are pleading to?
To know if it is a crime of moral turpitude, I need a summary of what happened? Just giving a one liner would not answer the question.
If the crime qualifies under the exception petty crime exception, you would have to be of good moral character for at least five years you complete the court's sentence to become a US citizen. So, it should not affect you if you meet the condition……..Not sure of what your lawyer is saying. If she still insists on what she told you, then I think she does not understand your question or does not know the law.

Thank you very much for the quick respose I really appreciate your help.
-The charge and plea are the same they are Aggravated Menacing.
-The max charge for it is 6 months jail time and $1000 fine.