Accused of theft!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

chateau062098

I need help!

I was fired for accusations of theft of wages. First of all, I am INNOCENT! (just wanted to make that clear).

I work as a Human Resource Generalist of a company that provides HR services for other companies. My job, as you might imagine, involves a great deal of sensitive information.

What I was accused of is adding additional hours to my overtime pay and receiving a bonus that didn't belong to me.

A little about the process

At my job, I process payroll for my department, along with another employee (which I trained). Our employees submit their timesheets to us, and we ultimately send the report in a read and print only file that is sent to payroll for processing of the actual check. My coworker and I exchange the employee hours in an excel worksheet for peer proofing. At this point, the file is editable. I do last names A - K and my coworker does L - Z. My name happens to fall on L - Z. After we proof the report, the excel sheet is then switched between the two of us. After we proof that one, the report is converted into a "read only, print only" file and sent to payroll.

The accusation was that after submitting my own timesheet to payroll, during the proofing process, I changed my own overtime hours. The report is then submitted by my coworker in the protected file. I have nothing to do with the creation of the protected file. However, l DO have access to my hours prior to that file being sent to payroll. During the peering process, I only see "employee IDs" and not any names.

I am perfectly happy with the pay that I have received, and was not hurting for money. I didn't always check my paystub (maybe my mistake). My check was always deposited automatically into my account, so I never thought too much about it. Now, it is their word against mine, from what I see.