Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Accessory to theft??

Status
Not open for further replies.

goodguy507

I was with a friend who got caught stealing from a retail store. I did not steal anything but was also charged with theft. Is this legal?

Did the police come & you were actually arrested & charged? You need to talk to a lawyer.

Hopefully you had sense to not sign any documents. If someone wants to accuse you of theft it has to be proven in court.
It it's possible that a charge could stick even if you didn't take anything yourself.

Depending on the circumstances of the theft yes you can be charged. However since you do not give us any info on the theft we cannot say but if I had to guess I would say yes its legal.

Accessory to Theft??? continued...

I wrote last evening about being charged with theft after a friend was caught stealing in a retail store. We were both arrested, and I was fingerprinted and had to post bond. I am a teacher and cannot have this on my record as it will ruin my career chances for a position at the university level. Here are the details. I want to emphasize that I had no knowledge my friend (former) was stealing clothes. We were in a dressing room and my friend was trying on clothes. I was on my cell phone and not paying any attention to her. Apparently she put some articles of clothing in her bag. As we left the store we were detained and he asked to search the bags. I had nothing but my friend had stolen merchandise. I was charged with petty theft, booked, fingerprinted, and posted bond to get out. My parents came and picked me up. I am 32 and just finishing my PhD and going on the job market for a university job. I am working as a substitute teacher now and I am scared this will ruin my life and career. What should I do when I go to court in 3 days and what are my chances. I have no previous record except for a fight with another girl at a nightclub years ago. I was not fingerprinted or charged in that incident.