Parole, Probation, Release Absconding from probation in California

Status
Not open for further replies.

LostinNY

I have been absconding for over 5 years. I currently reside in NYS. I am 50 yrs old , married with three minor children. I live a very quiet life and am only 2 minutes train ride from my employer ( a Law firm!) and drive rarely and only when necessary and very carefully when I do. I was sentenced for a felony and ordered to serve 120 days on weekend work release for having a fake ID and I could not attend due to no transportation. I have been gainfully employed in NY and have not had any police contact. I spoke to a friend of mine who is NYPD and he sd Ca will no waste their time to come get me if I turn myself in. Can I negotiate with the Probation Dept in order to clear up this dilemma or must I turn myself in? What are my options?

On the contrary. You're avoiding a felony, not some traffic ticket. You've been avoiding it for 5 YEARS.

You need to speak to an attorney before you do anything.

I have been absconding for over 5 years. I currently reside in NYS. I am 50 yrs old , married with three minor children. I live a very quiet life and am only 2 minutes train ride from my employer ( a Law firm!) and drive rarely and only when necessary and very carefully when I do. I was sentenced for a felony and ordered to serve 120 days on weekend work release for having a fake ID and I could not attend due to no transportation. I have been gainfully employed in NY and have not had any police contact. I spoke to a friend of mine who is NYPD and he sd Ca will no waste their time to come get me if I turn myself in. Can I negotiate with the Probation Dept in order to clear up this dilemma or must I turn myself in? What are my options?

California is suffering from a very severe financial crisis.

People have been able to reach certain deals with prosecutors in California.

You can try, but there is no guarantee.