About a Venue banning Me

Status
Not open for further replies.

rabbitears

State: WI

This is fairly long, but should answer most questions.

I'm a free lance photographer, and I mainly shoot live performances with a photo pass.
About a month ago I saw a job offer for the photographer position at a venue. I had the idea at the time that working at this venue would help me advance in my career, so I applied and received a response that day.
The response, from the art director, gave me direct instructions on how to officially apply for the position. Including in the directions was signing a contract stating all photos taken as an employee would solely belong to the venue. I was very hesitant in signing, and when I worked at the venue two weeks later I asked for more information on the job. I was informed by a woman at the box office that my compensation would be 30 dollars for each show, and the rest of her instruction matched up with the email I received previously.
I wanted to wait on giving her the contract but she insisted that I let her hold onto it, and that I could have them tear it up if I declined the job.

The next week I phoned the director before I left to their venue, for verification on the email instructions. The first time I attempted to contact him, his assistant told me that he was currently in a meeting and to phone back in 20 minutes. After about 20 minutes I phoned again and this time was informed he was working on a project and that HE would call me back shortly.