A good case?

Status
Not open for further replies.

brokenlull

Recently I traveled to Europe with a friend- I paid for his entire airfare and hotel costs with my credit card. As of now, he is refusing to pay for his expenses, so I will be filing a claim in my small claims court next week.

In total , he owes me $500 USD.

I have all supporting documentation, including:
-Reciept from Northwest Airlines (with itemized charges, names of both travelers)
-Credit Card statements showing charges from Airline and Hotel
-Credit card receipt from hotel

This case seems pretty simple. Do you experts out there think it might be in my favor?

Anything else I will need to consider?

I'm a young student and fairly ignorant to this whole process. Any help would be appreciated.

Originally posted by brokenlull
Recently I traveled to Europe with a friend- I paid for his entire airfare and hotel costs with my credit card. As of now, he is refusing to pay for his expenses, so I will be filing a claim in my small claims court next week.

In total , he owes me $500 USD.

I have all supporting documentation, including:
-Reciept from Northwest Airlines (with itemized charges, names of both travelers)
-Credit Card statements showing charges from Airline and Hotel
-Credit card receipt from hotel

This case seems pretty simple. Do you experts out there think it might be in my favor?

Anything else I will need to consider?

I'm a young student and fairly ignorant to this whole process. Any help would be appreciated.

Why does he refuse to pay you for your expenses? Is this 'friend' a romantic interest who might think it was a gift? My understanding is that the law presumes that such an act is a loan unless the recipient of the money can prove that it was a gift. You shouldn't say anything except a denial if he claims it was a gift and see if the judge/arbitrater presses him on this issue. Let the judiciary do the inquiry if this happens.