5 Years NO Contract - is Boss treating me fairly!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kaylt

Hi,

I have been working for the same company for the last 5 years, I was originally employed to work 3 days a week (Tues, Weds, Thurs). Before starting with the company I was given a letter that explained my duties, salary, hours and holiday entitlement (3 weeks + 2 weeks Christmas closure and Bank Holidays).

After 9 months the office became very busy and to help out I was asked to work Mondays, Fridays and some Saturday mornings. This became a permanent arrangement, but it became apparent at Christmas (6 months later) that my new hours had not been amended on the system, as I was only paid 6 days when everyone else was paid 10.

When I took this to the office manager she stated that I was only contracted to work 'part time' and that was all I was entitled to. I went to the Director of the company, although he couldn't or wouldn't give me the lost 4 days, he assured me that I would be paid Bank Holidays and Christmas like everyone else in future and I would be made up to full time status.

3 and a half years later I was finally made up to Full Time status on our payroll system. But I never received any thing in writing.

About 3 years ago my role also changed and I became in charge of hired plant, even being referred to as the 'Plant Manager' by my Boss. Again nothing in writing.