Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft 2nd offense shoplifting

Status
Not open for further replies.

TrulyRemorseful

I was caught shoplifting for the 2nd time. I'm 28 years old and I feel embarrassed and truly remorseful. The first time I was given unsupervised probation, which I just got off of last month. I was caught again yesterday at another store.

I cooperated and the woman assured me I didn't seem like the type and I would have as little punishment as possible. The police were called and they came and issued me a citation to appear in court in two weeks. I asked if I would go to jail and they said no, I had to appear for booking and fingerprinting, then I would possibly have a hearing that day, but then I would be released.

What would my punishment possibly be? I'm still worried about serving jail time, even though the police assured me I wouldn't.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am a retail theft consultant and answer questions like your daily. First off remove name of store that can cause you problems. Next talk to a Lawyer No one else. Jail is an option and whomever you spoke with at store does not know about your past likely. Judges hate repeat offenders and even more so, so soon after first offense. You need to be proactive here. I had a client in a similar situation who I advise to take and complete an Anti Shoplifting course like one offered by Non Profit group NASP www.shopliftingprevention.org he took his completion letter to court and Judge dismissed his case on the spot no probation! I cannot say same will happen for you but it can only help and wont hurt.

I was caught shoplifting for the 2nd time. I'm 28 years old and I feel embarrassed and truly remorseful. The first time I was given unsupervised probation, which I just got off of last month. I was caught again yesterday at another store.