The Minnesota Statute of Limitations for civil actions sets a time limit after an injury or civil wrong occurs, during which an injured party can file a lawsuit. After that period of time expires, the injured party is no longer permitted to file a claim in a Minnesota state court to litigate that matter. The statute ensures that lawsuits that have merit and worthy of being heard are filed within a reasonable time or not at all.
How Does the Statute of Limitations Operate?The period of time to file a claim will vary depending upon the type of incident that occurred. A claim against a doctor for medical malpractice may be for a different length of time than against an accountant for negligence or fraud. The Minnesota statute of limitations can generally be found within the Minnesota Statutes Chapter 541 and covers the following rules and exceptions in greater detail.
When does the Minnesota Statute of Limitations Begin?Other than for specific exceptions, the Minnesota statute of limitations generally begins to run at the time when a "cause of action arises" - in other words, at the time when an injury occurs that would qualify for a lawsuit to be filed in a Minnesota state court.
What is the Discovery Rule?There are times when a person is unable to discover that they have been injured. It wouldn't be fair or reasonable to require the injured party to file a lawsuit when they could not have detected the injury. As a result, in some instances the Minnesota statute of limitations begins to run from the time the injured party discovers or should have discovered that they have been injured.
Delaying or Tolling the Minnesota Statute of LimitationsIn certain circumstances, fairness would require that the statute of limitations be delayed for a period of time. A party may not have the ability to bring a case even though they are aware of an injury or damages. Delaying or "tolling" the statute of limitations might apply in some jurisdictions when a party is disabled. Once the disability ends, the statute of limitations begins to run.
Calculating the length of time that a plaintiff has to file a lawsuit is complicated and involves many factors and exceptions. Parties that have suffered significant injuries or damages may wish to consult with a Minnesota attorney to ensure that all claims and notices are filed within the time limits set forth by law.
Minnesota Civil Code: Minnesota Statutes
Personal Injury and Negligence2 years, generally. See MSA §541.07(1)
Wrongful Death3 - 6 years.
Medical Malpractice4 years, generally.
Legal and Professional Malpractice6 years.
Products Liability4 years.
Assault and Battery2 years.
False Imprisonment2 years.
ContractsWritten contracts 6 years. Oral contracts 6 years.
Personal Property Damages6 years.
Libel / Slander / Defamation2 years from the date of publication (or the date when spoken). See §95.11(4)(g)
Debt Collection Accounts
Collection of Rent
Judgment Enforcement10 years.
Liability of State and MunicipalitiesSpecial rules apply.
No-Fault InsuranceYes - no-fault insurance applies.
Consumer Fraud ComplaintsMinnesota Office of the Attorney General
Telephone: (651) 296-3353
Toll Free: (800) 657-3787
Please Take Note: The statute of limitations laws presented are strictly provided to you “as-is”. While we believe that the legal information is accurate as of the date created, we cannot and do not provide any guarantee, analysis or conclusions. The law may have changed since this article was published. The only way to ensure that the statute of limitations law you are reading is up to date and applies to your specific issue, is to have a legal consultation with an attorney licensed to practice law in the state of Minnesota.
- Lawsuits, Disputes:
- Statute Of Limitations
Statute of Limitations Minnesota Statute of Limitations, Civil Actions
By Michael Wechsler |
To make a comment simply sign up and become a member!