stay at home mum

Carly282

Jurisdiction
Florida
I have been a stay at home mum for the last 12 years. I run our self-storage business and 2 rentals (remotely) with no pay - this is in Maine. My husband works as a captain on a superyacht and is only home maybe 10%. We sold our house in Maine to be closer to him in FL. Sold the house in FL because it was too stressful. Lived on a sailboat in a marina. Then my husband said he wanted a divorce. Had to sell the boat (it's still for sale) because I could no longer find dockage and not marine system savy to do it solo, and was forced to move back to my home country in Australia because I have support here (I was a US resident). Is it better to try and get divorced in Maine or Florida? I have 3 kids (10,12, 14). Husband earns $280+k (plus free accommodation, all meals paid for, flights and bonus). He is sending me $6k per month. He has agreed to support us all 100% while I go to university to become a nurse. Can I still try for 60/40 assets when the alimony and child support are so high? If I go through the courts will they make it legal that he has to continue with the 6k / month or would they say a lot lower? The cost of living in Australia is expensive and I'm struggling to get a life started on that amount. I'm scared that if I don't go along with his terms he will cut me off financially. I would have to work for minimum wage in Australia because I haven't got up to date skills, it would be difficult to support 3 kids on that. I don't have enough left over at the end of the month to pay for a lawyer yet. We have assets but cash poor. My husband is out of the US and won't return there for a year, can he start divorce proceedings out of the country? He want's to divide assets now (small self storage and 2 rentals). A lawyer here told me that I need a US lawyer to do a settlement in the US and then I have to do a settlement here. What sort of advice can you give me? Thank you