My car is in someone elses name but I have been making the payments..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klasalata11

Jurisdiction
Georgia
My car is in someone elses name but I have been making the payments on time for 2 years. I've never had a lapse in insurance coverage or any accidents but recently was told by the other party that if I move out of state that I cannot take my vehicle with me. Is this even legal? We had a verbal agreement and have a signed agreement by me that it is in their name but I make the monthly payments, but I have recently decided to move out of state and now the other party is threatening me with repossession the vehicle. I just need to know what my rights are if any.

You have made a classic boner.
The person named on the title owns the car, despite your payments, you're doing nothing but renting the other person's car.

I suggest you buy your own car, with you clearly named ALONE on the title.

You have no rights to the property of others.

I just need to know what my rights are if any.

None. It's his car. I agree with Army Judge. You have been renting it.

Not to mention committing fraud against the lender and the insurance company.

PS: Take his car out of state and it's Grand Theft Auto.

I suggest you just give it back to him and stop making the payments and cancel the insurance. Then find yourself another car the honest way.

My car is in someone elses name but I have been making the payments on time for 2 years.

That was not a good idea. Even if you are making payments, the car is his if his name is on the title & he can do with it as he wishes. You might want to just let him have the car at this time. Sorry.

You guys are really harsh. I'm not committing insurance fraud if I'm on the insurance as a driver and have full coverage as well.