friendship is compensation

Jurisdiction
Pennsylvania
I was told and fined for running a business out of my house. I am a retired mechanic who helps my friends without compensation when I can. I have been told that friendship is compensation therefore I am running a business without a license, Seems like the most ridiculous claim I have ever heard.

I have to ask, who "told" you that?

If, in fact, the act of working on multiple cars at your home isn't a violation of zoning laws where you live I would love to hear how a judge responds to that logic.

I was told and fined for running a business out of my house

Local zoning laws in munipalties across the 50 states OUTLAW, as in PROHIBIT, what you describe.

For clarification, I suggest you contact your local elected leaders in Lancaster, PA.

GENERAL CONTACT INFO:

ZONING OFFICER
120 N. Duke St.
Lancaster, PA 17602

OFFICE HOURS
Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

PHONE: (717) 291-4736

https://lancaster-pa.maps.arcgis.com/apps/Viewer/index.html?appid=538346c47e9a4f22b190f3630d92ce56

https://cityoflancasterpa.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/Zoning-Map.pdf

Zoning | City of Lancaster, PA

I was told and fined for running a business out of my house. I am a retired mechanic who helps my friends without compensation when I can. I have been told that friendship is compensation therefore I am running a business without a license, Seems like the most ridiculous claim I have ever heard.

Go read the zoning ordinance you were cited for violating and see what the definition of a business is and if friendship is defined as compensation. You probably can look it up online. I'll bet a business is defined as something you do for profit. Also look for an ordinance that addresses home occupation.

If, in fact, the act of working on multiple cars at your home isn't a violation of zoning laws where you live I would love to hear how a judge responds to that logic.