Forced Contract

Ethan Tune

Jurisdiction
Tennessee
I've been driving a box truck for an art moving company since July of 2021 getting paid hourly at $23 along with my codriver. A year ago he said that if we both go to trucking school and get our cdls he would give us $35 an hour and even pay for our school which was $4000. Knowing that my boss is often sketchy and deceiving I was hesitant but decided I had nothing to lose since there was no work contract. After completing the course, our boss said "thank you now I just need you to sign this 3 year contract here or else you can pay us the $4000 that the course cost". Long story short we argued with him about how unfair it was and that we wouldn't pay him for it but he eventually told us "you can sign the contract or I will take the money from your paycheck and you can sue me for it" (I have an audio recording of this) eventually we decided to sign the contract because financially we would make the money back in a few months since the raise was significant enough and I didn't want to find another trucking job. Fast forward 6-7 months and my boss is trying to install cameras in the truck with audio to monitor my partner while we drive, which is my cue to leave since I spend 60+ hours a week in the truck and can't have my boss breathing down my throat. My question is if I leave, do I really have to pay the $4000 to him if I signed the contract or do is it worth taking legal grounds since he basically threatened me saying "sign it or I'll hold your paycheck from you".

Sorry, you still could have said no. Withholding your paycheck would have been illegal.

Using a poker analogy, he bluffed, you folded, he took the pot.

Feel free to consult an employment attorney if you can't accept what I've written.

Dude is spot on, mate.

Sorry, you still could have said no. Withholding your paycheck would have been illegal.

Feel free to consult an employment attorney if you can't accept what I've written.