Bookkeeper classifed as salaried, treated as exempt when it suits employer

Diamethyst

Jurisdiction
Iowa
I recently started a new job working as a bookkeeper for a family-owned company in central Iowa. My duties do not strictly include bookkeeping as I am also expected to assist our dispatcher with incoming calls. I have no independent discretion over anything.

We are paid on a salary. We are expected to work at least 8 hours a day and I usually put in over 9 because answering phones takes time away from other duties that I then have to stay to work on after the dispatcher leaves. We do not get overtime; we are treated as exempt in that respect. We are paid biweekly and expected to put in at least 80 hours per pay period.

I am also a Veteran. I submitted paperwork requesting Veteran's Day off, along with time calculations showing that because of the way that we work pretty much straight through the day, I will still have 80 hours in for the pay period and therefore my pay should not be docked for taking the day off. This evening my supervisor came in to my office, told me he got the request and was fine with it so long as I understood that I would not be paid for that Friday. In other words, they are expecting me to still work the 80 hours that I will put in doing 9 hours a day for the 9 days I will be there through the pay period, but only be paid for 72 hours since I asked for that Friday off. His reasoning was that every other employee who was still within their 60 day probation had their pay docked for days they had to take off when they had no vacation time to cover them. Am I wrong in thinking that because they are treating us as exempt and because I can and will still be putting in 80 hours for that pay period, I should receive my full pay and not be docked for the day off?

If your salary is over $684 per week or $35,568 per year you are not just "treated" as exempt from overtime, you ARE exempt from overtime.

Does your salary exceed those amounts?