Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Arrested for shoplifting first time, what do I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sillyprilly

I was arrested at a store for stealing I think around $150 worth of stuff. LP stopped me then police officers came, handcuffed me and took me to a holding cell, asked me questions, then took me to a county jail where I spent several hours until I was released OR. I was charged with Petty Theft 484PC (misdemeanor).
My court date is set next month and I don't know what I should do until then.
I'm 21 years old, in college.
First, what are the chances of spending jail time?
Can I request paying a fine and taking classes instead because I'm a college student who needs to go to school?
What should I plea?
Should I consult with a criminal defense attorney?
Should I complete a shoplifting class online before my court date?
I want this case to be resolved as soon as possible and how can I get this expunged from my record?
Thanks.

Sorry to hear about your predicament.

1. Hard to say what your chances are regarding punishment. If this is your first offense, I don't think that jail is likely in the cards for you.

2. You can't just request anything in court because you have to go to school. They would rather see you be a remorseful individual who isn't telling them what their options are. That's a better approach.

3. Plea not guilty. But see #4.

4. Yes, you should absolutely consult with a criminal defense attorney (and you can may want to get a free case review from a criminal defense attorney as well - and then you'll have your options. )

5. Someone else can answer on the class but your best bet is to first speak to an attorney.

Expunged? You're a long way from there. First of all you aren't yet convicted. Second, it's not like you can just take out some soap and scrub away a criminal conviction. If it was that easy, nobody would be deterred from theft. Best of luck with this and I think you need to speak to an attorney.