ADA/Section 504 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

anonymousdot

I am facing an academic issue at the moment, and I am wondering if the treatment I am facing has been in compliance with the ADA/Section 504. I will further explain my academic circumstance so that we can determine if it has been. I was a student that transferred to my university and attended it from the fall of 2020 - fall of 2021. I struggled with the transition to a remote format and the isolation period during the pandemic, and I fell into a severe depression in the fall of 2020. Following a period of poor academic performance, I was dismissed. In attempting to return to complete a quarter of readmission, my initial request to return by my major department was denied. After months of discussion, the department allowed me to return to attempt a quarter of readmission in the winter of 2023, and as part of an agreement requested that I provide a letter from a therapist which stated that I was receiving therapy. As I did not meet the readmission standards during this quarter, I was told that I was unable to continue.