2000 dollars

Hovies33

Jurisdiction
Texas
I've been staying with a family friend for over a year and 2 months. They had not charged me rent until October 15 of 2015. I arrived December 20 of 2014. They paid for me to move with them, but was never told I had to pay back any of the money they spent. Since I was unemployed at the time they helped me out with 2 payments one of 165.00 which was a furniture payment the other was one of 130.00 for my cellphone phone, upon recovering my tax returnseason I payed them back for the money I owed them. Point being I was kicked out of the house yesterday before my rent was due and only given a few days to move out. Nothing is written now they want to charge me for 2000 dollars that I have had no idea about and was not informed about until them kicking me out. Now they are threatening to take me to court. What should I do? How can this be handled? Please help.

You were a guest until 10/15/15 and a month-to-month tenant from then on. With no written IOU for anything that occurred prior to 10/15/15 I don't see any judge awarding them $2000.

Assuming you paid rent on 10/15, 11/15, 12/15, and 1/15, it's clear that you were wrongfully evicted.

The Texas landlord tenant statute address termination of a month-to-month tenancy as follows:

Sec. 91.001. NOTICE FOR TERMINATING CERTAIN TENANCIES. (a) A monthly tenancy or a tenancy from month to month may be terminated by the tenant or the landlord giving notice of termination to the other.

(b) If a notice of termination is given under Subsection (a) and if the rent-paying period is at least one month, the tenancy terminates on whichever of the following days is the later:

(1) the day given in the notice for termination; or

(2) one month after the day on which the notice is given.

So, basically, they were legally obligated to give you one month notice.

Further: