Workplace Favoritism

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bulldogbaby

I am a home care nurse (LPN) and have been with a privately owned agency for 3years. There is a co-worker (also an LPN) who seems to be the office favorite. She has less years of nursing experience and has been with this company less time than myself and other nurses, yet she has received numerous promotions and raises in 2 years. She is "friends" with the boss and received the promotions despite the fact that patients and doctors have complained about her quality of work. She also has a drinking problem. She has shown up to work drunk on at least 2 occassions. On one occassion, the boss and owner of the company (also her friend) personally took her to a local physician. We were told that she was having "personal problems" and needed to have sympathy for her. Myself and other employers have smelled alcohol on her and reported it to our supervisor. What were the consequences of her actions? She got promoted (with a pay raise) and became the nurses aide supervisor and chart coder. (desk job). Now, just this past week, she got promoted again to QA staff (another pay raise), and no longer has to take call. Now, the rest of the nurses have to do her job (patient care and being on call). Other nurses were not even given the opportunity for advancement, it was just given to the above mentioned nurse.
Because this nurse and the boss are friends, nobody is about to say anything for fear of reprecussions (getting fired). I have looked into notifying the Board of Nursing, but it can not be done without giving my name, phone number, etc. Is there anything that could be done and not get anyone fired in the long run?

There are no laws that forbid "favortism" in the work place. Unless of course this is due to your belonging to a protected class or the action violates an exisiting contract