Wondering if background is affecting employment..........

Status
Not open for further replies.

CH3MI5TR4NG3R

I used to be wild when I was younger. I have a small record from many years ago. I had multiple small misdemeanors but nothing serious. I also had a D.U.I. but I got it right before they changed the law to keep it on your record permanently. I don't know if the D.U.I. is still on my record or not. All of these offenses have been at least 10 years or more ago.

Since then I went back to college & got my AAS degree in Computer Science. I graduated Cum Laude with a 3.6 GPA, top of the class, with multiple awards. I have grown up & gotten over my bad ways. All of my trouble was due to drinking in one way or another & I haven't drank in 10 years. I don't even smoke. I am mature and responsible now. I have held steady employment for 12 years now also.

I started my job search at the beginning of this year, after I graduated. I have had many close calls but haven't gotten a job in my field yet.

My question is; do you think my background will affect my employment much.

The only thing I have against me in the past 10 years is a couple of traffic tickets. One was about a year ago. This ticket was bogus. I got pulled over for putting my hat on while going down the road. They called it improper lane usage and only state troopers can write these type of tickets, lucky me. I tried to fight it but the state always wins. Anyways, it was a joke ticket. The other was 2 or 3 years ago for speeding.

Thanks,

Last edited:
If you have been steadily employed for twelve years and have nothing recent but a traffic ticket, I think it very unlikely that anything in your background is keeping you from employment.

Thanks for the reply.