Wireless provider billing more than it should

Status
Not open for further replies.

ipaz

Hi!
I am a university student, my family has a wireless provider contract that expired on 03/18/09. I wanted to lower the monthly bill of my family and suggested them to show me their cellphone bills to choose an appropriate plan considering our usage. They gave me the bill of 03/18/09 and I saw some additional fees they were wrongfully charging. The fees were about using 200 minute but that account had a plan of 600 minutes. I was able by a phone call credit the wrongful charges to the account. I talked to my family and ask them the older bills, to my suprise I found they have been doing so in the past 4 times. This company made a billing error 08/21/08, 12/21/08,11/18/08, 02/18,09. My father was angry because he had good faith in the company. Upon objecting the bills mentioned earlier the customer service representative told me the 20 days to object already have passed there was nothing I could do.
Because my mother was the one that paid the bills, she didn't notice the error.

the total amount overcharged was $100.12.

It is unacceptable for a company to overcharged randomly its customers and get away with it, like me I know another person who have the same problem and i suspect is common practice for the company to overcharge customers at random times.

What are my legal options ? They have exploited my father's good will and faith and have steal from my family.

Last edited:
A University student? hmm?!

Errors on invoices are a lifelong problem that will never go away. Learn to live with them by reviewing bills prior to paying them. If you had brought the error to the company's attention immediately, I'm sure they would have made the correction. Asking for credit adjustment to old invoices may or may not be handled. In your case the company has a policy of 20 days to object. Why do you feel the company should overlook their policy?