Consumer Law, Warranties Web Designer Non Performance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Siddalee

In March I made a deposit to a web designer in the amount of $1,150.00 which is half what she proposed charging me for creation of a real estate website. As of August 31, I still did not have a website and very limited contact from her during that six month period of time. I was very explicit in what I wanted my website to look like and I truly don't think she knew how to do it or how to integrate it with our multiple listing service so she just kept putting me on the back burner. All I saw were 4 template designs that were horrific. In the meantime, she went on to create several websites for other customers. After starting her business in January, she now has a horrible reputation due to poor customer service and gouging of pricing. I sent her an e-mail on August 31 telling her I was ceasing doing business with her because as a real estate agent I have to have web presence. There was no contract of any kind I was just given a price quote. Then I proceed to get an e-mail from her out of work homeopath husband indicating I either pay the rest or they will take me to small claims. So I was served with a summons and complaint and they are suing me for the remaining balance of what they refer to in the complaint as the contract. I realize this is an implied contract but do I have any recourse here? He threatens that they have all of the phone records and e-mails (of which there were less than half a dozen). This lady's business is an LLC and he is not an officer of the corporation. She does not use contracts in her business. I have since signed with my old web company of which I have a contract and was up in two weeks. Do I even have any recourse here? Thanks!

I'm not trying to be a smart alack but what is a homeopath?