Walk-thru Completed BUT

cornfuzzed

Jurisdiction
Georgia
I'm helping my 86-Y-O mother manage her rental property. Tenants moved out and said they cleaned the unit. If I was going to rent this place to move in there's NO WAY I'd move in with the condition it's in - frankly it's NASTY.

I did a walk-thru with one of them. (I'm very new at this.) The tenant basically threatened me with a lawsuit if they don't get their deposit money back and told me they're within HUD guidelines for "wear and tear" because he's "managed lots of property in the past".
Tenants actually BROKE mini-blinds that were new when they moved in (blinds are now 5 years old), left carpets stained because they overheard us discussing possibility of replacing carpet with prospective tenants (carpet is approximately 8 years old), there is mold in the bathrooms that was NOT there when they moved in (I did comment that that would have to be cleaned) , the kitchen floor is as greasy as a restaurant floor, the stove is horrible, there are streaks on the walls where some unknown liquid stained it and it won't come off, and they (who knows how!) BROKE the arm of a ceiling fan and are claiming defect of the fan. They did not retain the broken part of the fan for me to send to the manufacturer so I can't claim defect that way. They also did not return all of the keys to the unit, kept a mailbox key and played dumb when I asked for the second key (I re-keyed the mailbox today to take care of that problem....) and rekeyed the unit today as well to keep them out of the unit as they gave possession up yesterday.

I didn't note all of the damage but tenant signed the walk-thru form. I have since added notes stating "found in review". I DID take pictures after the tenant left and plan to take additional pictures before cleaners come in two days to make sure I haven't missed anything.