Voluntary Repo or?

Thea

Jurisdiction
Virginia
Background: Daughter meets guy. They date for a while. Guy decides to trade his new truck which in underwater for a new car and ropes daughter into co-signing new loan. Relationship fails- go figure- he has the car. She never have possession of the car. He stops paying on it, stops paying property taxes on it, insurance and registration lapse. He is filing for bankruptcy April 1- supposedly.

Naturally, creditors are coming after her, but she doesnt have the car. She told lender to voluntarily repo car. Dealership says he cant file for bankruptcy with her name on the loan- Im not a lawyer, hence why Im asking. Yes lawyers are very expensive for little ROI.

Fast fwd to today. Guy emails stating that he left the car in a parking lot with the keys in it.

What's the best short-term advice to consider?

1. Go get the car and secure it.
2. Move the car to her apartment and call lender to come get it.
3. Dont touch the car, but call the lender with location.

Either way, she understands that she will owe. Expensive life lesson. Just trying to figure out the best approach. Paying the monthly payment is not possible. Bankruptcy herself is not possible. Local attorney's wont touch the case.

3. Don't touch the car, but call the lender with location.

Choice 1 will allow YOU or HER to protect the vehicle and keep it safe and secure until the lender's repo agency arrives to take the vehicle into their custody.

Choice 2 offers some protection to HER, unless the vehicle is damaged during transport.

Choice 3 offers some protections to HER and those who assist HER, but many things can happen beyond your control.

What you ask?

Why an inebriated, unlicensed, uninsured driver could crash into the vehicle.
Maybe a car thief arrives and damages the vehicle while trying to break into it, or crashes it when he gets it rolling.

Choose wisely and stay safe out there in that big, beautiful world in which we live.