Burglary, Arson, Home Invasion Victim of Identity Theft

Status
Not open for further replies.

bartistics

In 1998 and 1999, an individual had used my name for some criminal activity. He was sentenced to jail time and probation for both offenses, one was attempted burglary and the other posession of an opium pipe. Needless to say, I never knew this occured. I did not find this out until I was wrongfully terminated from my job in January. Even after receiving a letter of absolution from the San Bernardino PD, I was still not hired back. I have been fighting for two months to get my name cleared with no avail, because the individual is still serving time in an out of state prison. All they want to charge this individual with is 3 years in jail and a slap on the wrist.

This is what I don't understand and makes NO sense to me at all. In 1998 I started college and the jail time was not served until the end of December. 1 month of jail time would mean me missing out of almost half of a quarter, missing all my midterms, homeworks, labs, etc. Same as for 1999 except the jail time was in February. Same situation applies. Not to mention probation for both the charges, and since my college is in Riverside County and the crimes in San Bernardino County, that would have affect my schooling. I went on through 5 years of college and two degrees without a hitch or hiccup.

Another thing is although the crimes I supposedly commited happened at age 18+, my parents should still be notified since I am still in their custody and they were at the time still providing for me? I'm not sure on how my college handles arrests that means missing half a quarter, as I still need to talk with them, but I'm pretty sure the school would have been notified.