Modifying a Lease Very complex tenant issue, living on someone else's lease.

lumberbob

Jurisdiction
New York
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

Hi, I have a question regarding tenant law for a rent stabilized apartment in NYC. I've been renting the apartment in question for over 30 years now however my name was never on the lease. The apartment is leased under my friends name who took me in as a room mate back in the 80s. Shortly thereafter he moved away to a different country thus leaving me with the apartment. My friend gave me oral permission to continue residence in his apartment and allowed me to sign the renewal lease under his name (I always sign his name on the renewal lease, not mine) each year. However, I pay the rent for the apartment under my name each month by check. I've been living there peacefully for the past 30 years with no issue. I never informed the landlord about this and he never complained so I can only assume that the landlord has long since waived any objection to my tenancy.