Consumer Law, Warranties Verbal Contract For Services

Status
Not open for further replies.

zdleifer

I am a web page designer. In my first few months as a designer,
I had entered a verbal contract with a church in Nassau County,
NY. They wanted a web page for their church, and I was to
provide it. We agreed on a price, and I completed the job. I
did not make a written contract. The moment I asked for payment, my contact at the church got nasty with me telling me that i did not spend enough time with her, that I disrespected her church. In fact, to the contrary I even attended a service at her church (although I am Jewish) and the Pastor (her husband) announced that I was making a web site for the church in front of the entire congregation.

The only evidence I have is the email correspondence with the
church representative...requests for changes, meetings etc...
There is no mention of payment...I do have someone who knew of
the circumstances...The person who introduced me to the church,
he used to be the music minister at the church. He knew of the
situation, and in fact later resigned due to further problems
with the church. I am planning to sue the church in small claims
court for the $1,250.00 owed to me for the web page design. Do
you think I have a good case? What should be done in preparation for the case? Are there any laws which I should bring up? Please advise. Thank you for your time.

You should always have a contract as a web page designer, no matter how simple. It can be simple but should state the basic terms, including price and the extent of the work being done.

1) Is the church using your work? If so, they would then obligate themselves to pay you since you performed services rendered which they accepted.