Verbal Abuse in the Workplace

Status
Not open for further replies.

biddiemama

Anyone Have Any Advice:

I have been working for the same company for the past 4 years. I work for a franchised auto shop and I am the only female there. My title is the Office Manager. My problem is with verbal abuse on the job. I have complained to the manager about certain technicians drinking on the job numerous times. Doesnt seem to help because he also drinks on the job. This really causes problems when certain tech's get drunk and the get very nasty. I am tired of being on the other end of their drunken stupor. I have been called every name in the book but I not suppose to get upset, or let it bother me. Thats what the OWNER says. I cant take it no more and want to file some sort of legal complaint. My husband doesnt even talk to me the way these guys do and Im tired of it. I cant just up and quit, I have kids and we live pay check to pay check now. If I file a legal complaint can the owner fire me. I really need help!

Thanks

Is there someone above the manager you can complain too, the corporate office maybe? Make sure you document the abuse...days, times, what is said. Send a letter return receipt. The manager will probably try and retaliate and could try and fire you for other reasons...so keep a log of some sort and names of witnesses if any, including customers. If you are fired or retaliated against for complaining you may be covered under the Whistleblowers Act. Check out the website for the Office of Civil Rights and see if your complaints are covered under any of their laws before you procede. You called the man the manager, so their may be an owner you can complain to, but do it in writing and mail return receipt, keep a copy of the letter(s) for your records.