VA, accident - failure to yield right of way on left turn

Status
Not open for further replies.

mandankonapi

I was driving a 10' U-Haul truck, and was waiting on a turn lane to take a left turn.
from the opposite direction a pick-up truck was coming and had its left turn signal ON, and was moving towards HIS turn lane, (he had like one of his tires on the turn lane which i did not mention in my report to the cops - i had a co-passenger who told me this only after the cops gave me a ticket), i moved a little forward and the pickup truck came ahead and slammed into the front of my truck on the right side...and I have a ticket with failure to yield right of way on left turn.

Cops said I should be 100% sure that the lane is sure before taking the left turn. I called up some lawyers and they say they can give me a no-point violation, but the fee are exorbitant and like 600$ minimum apart from the fine and court fee. I am a graduate student and cant afford this. So I need some advice...how can i argue myself so as to get no-points?

Thanks in Advance
-Bill

You are definitely at fault. The pickup obviously didn't slow down enough to turn. You try to subtlety diminish your fault with the phrase below. The prosecutor will be looking for your willingness to take responsibility and not diminish your blame.

i moved a little forward and the pickup truck came ahead and slammed into the front of my truck on the right side...and I have a ticket with failure to yield right of way on left turn.

You didn't "move a little forward" you were full on turning in front of oncoming traffic. How do I know? He hit you on the right side which would be impossible unless you had turned already.

I'm not trying to rub it in just pointing it out. The attorney fees are not exorbitant either, that's about right. That is the safest way to take care of it.