Fraud, Embezzlement, Bad Checks Urgent advice needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

djudd

My tale of woe starts out several months ago when I lost my job. As a back-history I had been renting a vehicle from a car rental franchise since 2004. When I was unable to pay the owner the rental fee he "let me slide" for a few weeks. This put me in the position where I was in debt to him for ~1,500.00. He continued to encourage me to keep the vehicle during this timeperiod, but I realized there was no way I could afford this. Towards the end of this I (stupidly) gave him a check to hold as a commitment. At that time we both knew the check was no good. I did this (again stupidly) because he began pressuring me by calling me at least 10 times a day. Within days of this and against his wishes I returned the vehicle and paid him half of everything I had at the time (200.00). About a month ago I finally was able to secure a new job and let him know that I was starting on the 9th of July and would be able to pay him soon. I called him to discuss a way to settle this debt. He wanted full payment from my first paycheck, hey who wouldn't. I explained to him that I needed to first pay my back-rent and turn on my basic utilities first (I had lost water and gas and was on the verge of loosing electricity, it was bad). If I did not do this my family would be evicted. His response was to threaten the welfare of my children with "If you do not pay me now I will have your wife arrested for a bad check, you arrested for failure to return rental property and your children put out on the street.". Now I have four small children between the ages of 3 and 9 and threats to "put [them] out on the street" do not settle well with me so I ended the phone call at that.