Unusual Situation - Please help!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DrSuz18

I have kind of a unique situation and I don't know where to go from here. I have been working for a staffing company for 2 1/2 years. The company offers referral bonuses of $500 for each person that you refer to the company, that is hired, and that works past their 90 day probationary period. The catch is that you cannot collect the bonus for referring someone to your own office. From the time I started, I was told that you could get around this by having someone else in another office turn in the form for you and then they would give you the money.

A woman in another office approached me about a year ago and asked me to do this for her. I had no problem doing it, as the referral form was easy. I received a check about 5 days after the new employees' probationary period was over. I deposited it and wrote a personal check to the woman who referred her.

Then in July 2005, I referred someone for my office. In return, I had asked the same woman who asked me, if she would turn in the form for me. She agreed and when the 90 days past, she said that she had received the check and deposited it, but didn't bring her personal checkbook with her to work and would do so tomorrow. Then the next day, she said that she forgot again and blamed her kids for making her rush out of the door. I waited a few days before I approached her again about this, not wanting to be too pushy. I sent her e-mails and she always said that something had come up.

About a week ago, I left the company to persue other opportunities. However, I have kept in touch with her through e-mail. Last week, she said that she had forgotten her checkbook again, so I gave her my address and asked her to mail it to me. Yesterday was a week and I have received nothing. Since then, I have sent e-mails and called her office. She has not responded to any e-mails and she will not take my calls, always coming up with some excuse.