Business Contracts Unsure of Procedure

MGL1985

Jurisdiction
Georgia
I'm currently dealing with a former client who continues to tell me that she is unable to pay me for my services, and this is what I'm looking for legal advice on. It is a very complicated situation, and it starts by me trusting my client/friend and not immediately drawing up a contract. I understand that this was very poor business on my end, and I should not have been trusting as I was - and I understand that many courts and lawyers won't even consider the case because I do not have this explicit contract/agreement of work and payment. Before stating anymore of my case, I wanted to clear that up and that I'm fully aware of this crucial mistake on my part.

I am an independent contractor, and have previously worked with this client without issue of payment - she always paid me on time and in the full amount. Since the time I have worked with her, I have continued to build my online marketing business, and during our initial meeting, she told me of her plans to expand her brand and encompass several industries instead of just one. She proposed partnering with me for one of these industries (in my off-time, I do additional creative work for extra money), and she's wanted me as her Personal Assistant for many years, and this time I did give in while also remaining a marketing consultant. I performed a variety of tasks, including business development, product development, design, web development and strategy, and assistant duties.