Alcohol & Drugs: MIP, MIC, Intoxication Unknowingly Consumed Alcohol, Given MIP

Status
Not open for further replies.

ctfalk

I'm an 18 year old resident and student in Michigan. I went to Hope College's Homecoming formal with some friends who attend Hope (I attend GVSU), keep in mind Hope is a dry campus, and when I was at the formal I got some refreshments. I wasn't really worried about anything because I assumed that this formal would be supervised according to their No Alcohol stance. I started to get really dizzy and nauseous and left the formal trying to locate a few of my friends who had left about half an hour before I did. I became severely disoriented and sat down on a campus bench where I was resting trying to regain control. Police showed up and asked what was going on, I explained to them the best I could that I do not drink but that something was clearly wrong and I believed to have been served spiked drinks. I also voiced my concern that this did not feel right and I was worried about possible roofie or some drug in the drink as well. They requested a breathalyzer for BAC and I obliged, I blew around a .12 and the officer informed me that the had contacted paramedics and an ambulance was on its way, as well that I was to receive a MIP. He explained I would have a court date to try and sort it out. This is my first ever offense.

What I am curious about is can/will this MIP stick even though I was not intending/responsible for my subsequent intoxication? I am certainly not denying that I was intoxicated but I as well did not have any hand in becoming that way?

Court Date Oct. 21

P.S. At the hospital they did do blood work to confirm that I was indeed intoxicated, however despite my repeated voiced concerns I do not believe they did any tests to determine if there were any drugs involved as well.