Premises Liability University Laboratory Safety

C

concernedchemgrad

Jurisdiction
Colorado
I am a student at a public university in Colorado.
Currently, I feel there are some issues that compromise student safety at the school.
While the university allows faculty to take time off for illness and other medical issues, many classes have policies in place that greatly penalize students for missing a class for those same reasons. The school allows students to take time off and do make up work when it is for athletics, but do not allow students to make up work for illness. Missing a single day of class due to illness can in some cases causes students to lose 25% of their grade for a course, so there is a lot of pressure to attend classes in any situation.
While for some cases, coming to class sick might just increase the chances of other students getting sick, there are many course on campus that are not simply lecture. These courses can involve working with heavy machinery, power tools, high voltage, and hazardous chemicals.
While I have concerns regarding policy in all courses of this nature, my recent experiences regard the chemistry laboratories on campus.