Unfair Police Report

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlam08

I was involved in an accident in 2 months ago. While getting on a freeway ramp with two entrance lanes, the car to the right of me ran into my lane and hit my passenger side. The police dept. had a backlog and the report finally came in recently and the police determined that it was my fault! This is so unfair, as 1) the other driver was on the cell phone and caused the accident with his carelessness, 2) the CHP officer didn't even looked at my car for damages, 3) the CHP officer had an attitude towards me and I'm guessing already determined it was my fault because I'm an asian female driver. How can I appeal this report? The other car's insurance now declined to pay for my car's damages.

I am 100% certain I was not at fault - I've gotten on this ramp daily for the last 5 years without any problem. I can just pay for the damages and move on, but this is so unfair! I bought my car new 8 years ago and had never had even a ticket! Now I have to pay for damages caused by this idiot driver on cell phone and an incompetent CHP officer?! Will this go on my driving records and affect my insurance? :mad: :(

Last edited:
Sue them under small calims procedure. It's cheap. Get the cellphone records of the other driver. Send a letter tot he district prosecutor where you were ticketed to get this info if necessary. though I presume you have the details of the other driver, you can send a discoverly letter to that driver. Look online for more info abougt "discovery". Ascertain the time of the accident.
Take pictures o the intersection if possible. Draw diagrams. Interrogate the other driver under oath. Make your case.

Perhaps in court question the officer so he demonstrates his discriminatory bias and racism. HArd to do, and probably easier with a lawyer, but maybe possible.