Two bills for same procedure, but different charges on each bill...

Status
Not open for further replies.

MystiB

I am going to court Thursday regarding a hospital bill I supposedly owe. The service was 04/05/2010, and just TODAY I received what the lawyer is considering the validation of the debt (that I have been requesting in writing and by phone since 02/2011). (Note - my first bill showed my portion at just under $400, which I paid and no one is disputing. The second bill shows my portion to be over $2000) However, this "validation" is just a fax cover requesting a review of the claim (a particular code) for a higher reimbursement rate. There is nothing to show that this fax cover sheet was not just created today. I have paperwork showing that the "mistake" was in the billing and coding from the hospital, but this "validation" is supposed to show that the mistake was caught by the insurance company. Also - I have TWO different bills for the service - one provided to me on 04/10/10 and another that the lawyer for the hospital provided to me dated 10/10/10. On bill #2, not only is my portion due higher (that's what I'm being sued over), but the names of the medications have changed, different medications have been added, some medications have disappeared, and the quantity has been changed on the medications and services rendered that do match! It looks like they screwed with the billing to make my portion owed increased. Do I have any defense when I walk into court?? Please help!

A question or two, and I really am going somewhere specific with this: Was the bill ever submitted to your insurance company, and did they pay any portion of it?

I am going to court Thursday regarding a hospital bill I supposedly owe.

The service was 04/05/2010, and just TODAY I received what the lawyer is considering the validation of the debt (that I have been requesting in writing and by phone since 02/2011).