Time theft as a salaried employee

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saiyaman

I was a store manager at a retail chain store. I was confronted by my district manager about leaving the store early while still being clocked in. Now I have on a few occasions left the store without remembering to clock out. As a salaried manager we are instructed that we have to work 45 hours a week but we get paid the same whether we work less than that amount of time or more, whether we work 40 hours or 55.

Now it's pretty common practice within the district that managers leave their shifts fairly regularly or "disappear" for 2 or 3 hours without being accounted for, the district manager him self has stayed clocked into mine and various other stores for the entire day even though he would leave after only a couple of hours of a visit. Now district managers are required to stay at a store they are visiting for the entirety of the day or about 7 to 8 hours, my district manager never did this so I believe if I am accused of stealing time then by the same logic he was stealing time. All I did was what I saw when I was hired, I followed the example of my superiors. I'm not by any means trying to sound like a victim but how can i be threatened to be fired and forced to resign by my direct supervisor for something he has done on many occasions himself? As well is the other store managers in the district which he happens to be friends with.

There are also many other polices that are violated by his friends who are managers that they are not fired for, one manager has been on final warning for having poor audits for YEARS, this manager as per the company guidelines should be been fired multiple times for the same infraction and this manager also "steals time".

My district manager himself has done things and said things in front of employees that should get him fired as well, like drinking alcohol on company time with minors present and unplugging the camera's afterward.