Starting a New Catering Business

Status
Not open for further replies.

kash

hi
i am a permanent resident and i would like to start a new catering business from my home.
[1] can you help me in what are the type of incorporation category a catering business falls in or what is the best type that i should incorporate in ? the size of the business is very small and the annual turnover will be coming around to $20000.

[2] what type of tax benefits can i get if i incorporate this company ?

[3] is incrporating the business a wise idea based on the size of my company ?

[2] For a catering business since it involves food are there any FDA requirements to be fulfilled or any other legal issues to be handled to be in the food business ?

i will really appreciate your help in this.

cheers
kash

You don't mention your state, so these are very general answers:

[1] A decision on choice of entity is based on an review of the facts, with a little prediction about your future needs thrown in. Since no one's crystal ball is perfect, you may find that you could have made a better choice, but in most cases changing the form later is neither complicated nor costly. An exception is that converting a corporation into an LLC later can trigger taxes if the corporation's assets have appreciated above the owner's basis. Although I find myself recommending limited liability companies more often than not, a simple corporation with an S election may work fine in your case. In Illinois, for example, a filing fee for an LLC is $500 while the incorporation filing fee and initial franchise tax is only $175. You should check out the answer in your own state.

[2] The tax benefits of a corporation and LLC are too complicated to describe in a short space, but given the anticipated revenues of your company, taxes should not be your primary concern. See [3] below.