Spouses working together @ work.

Status
Not open for further replies.

itmom

A problem has recently been brought to my attention at work. I'm a Independent Contractor with a computer business in Georgia. My boyfriend works for the same company as I do but hes a Project Manager. He is directly hired with our company, were I am contracted out so I'm not.
Last week on Friday my boyfriend told me that he was speaking to a boss from corporate and he told my boyfriend that their is going to be a new policy in place with our company. Which isn't going to allow spouses to work together. My boyfriends boss told him to tell me that message and that he would contact me back as soon as he can or when he found out new information about the "new policy."

Monday my boyfriend tells me that the reason they are doing this new policy is because they are bringing in another Project Manager and another Tech. It just so happens at this Tech is also a female whom is engaged to the new Project Manager. When I asked my boyfriend if this rule is going to apply towards family members as well he told me no. That his boss said It woulnt apply to family members because family is blood and your spouse isn't. I thought to myself "Wow that's pretty messed up." That seems VERY biased and sexist to me to be honest. They are doing this because they don't want to think that their will be favoritism. By this time it is Monday...No one from Corportate has contacted me on regarding this new policy. So I sent a email to my boyfriends boss and asking him if this policy is going to apply to family members as well? And he replied with No just spouses. I thought that was clearly very unfair. Because their would be favoritism with family members on site on a job as well. Now my hours have been scaled back, and I am restricted to work in the warehouse, and do deliveries. So I cant work on the same project as my boyfriend is on.