Shady Landlord

Tenant for now

Jurisdiction
Ohio
Hello All,

This is my first time ever posting on this site. I have a question that I would love to hear others' perspective on.

We are currently renting a home in a small area, because of the school district. We do not have any other options currently, as this school district/town, is only a total of 2 miles in radius as is. So finding a plethora of options just isn't a reality. My son, specifically, has special needs and has been in this district since the age of 3 and is now just shy of 17 years old. There has been many years worth of meetings and such for his IEP (individualized education plan) put into these years and to move out from this district at this point, would be like starting over. Prior to moving into this home 3 years ago, we rented another home here in this town, and were tenants there for a little over 12 years. Our "plan" was to remain in that home until all of our kids graduated this school district and move out of this area completely (to get a relief on how much we pay to live in this community in the first place). However, that home was owned by a local university, and due to restrictions that the town placed on the university and where they could/couldn't house students, the university notified us that our home was within the area where they could house students and therefore needed the home for student housing. They gave us plenty of time to find another place to live (knowing the circumstances of finding rentals in this school district), along with a great review for us as tenants.