Roommates stealing credit card

Status
Not open for further replies.

confusedcitizen

Guys I'm really happy that I have found this forum. This is my first so please bear with me. I don't know where to turn.

Let me start from the top, I started a new job at universal studios. I found some co-workers who became close friends. They needed some help with a place to stay. After letting them settle in, we discussed how we could become roommates. Well I'll skip all the details about how I was a saint and took them in.

Well Anyways I'm a student with a student credit card and its my first. My roommates could not get one. Many problems started happening cause we are all short on money at that time so they asked if they could use it Just once for emergency gas. I let them take it away. After that when they received their paychecks, they paid me back.

Another week passes then something tragic happens. Their mom was going into surgery for cancer. Life or death situation. Once again they where short on money for the trip. They turned to me and made a huge dramatic plea to let them use the card for gas alone. I was foolish this time and believe them and let them use it. what happened after that they came back. I received the bill... over $3000 charged on to the card including a tattoo and all sorts of stuff.

I just been used and fooled I filed a claim saying it was fraud. And now they are making threats against me and I worried for my well being. I left to New Jersey to see my parents about this. Now today I got another threatening call from my roommates. Saying they will sue me for leaving while under the lease and deny saying in court it was fraud, I let them use it. I won't say anymore right now cause there is just to much that happened.

A few questions.

Could they really sue me for leaving on short notice at the apartment even though it was paid for this month?